View Full Version : Dear Singapore, vote for freedom

Sammyboy RSS Feed
10-09-2015, 10:00 AM
An honorable member of the Coffee Shop Has Just Posted the Following:

Dear Singapore, vote for freedom

SEPTEMBER 9, 2015 BY ONLINECITIZEN

By Melissa Low

Dear Singapore

I am not an avid politics watcher, nor am I a sociopolitical academic scholar. I am an average Singaporean, who listens to bits and pieces of the rallies and obligatorily watches the Prime Minister’s speech. However, I have a point to make. I studied law and I have an understanding of Singapore politics, and of British politics and American politics – the so-called gridlocked system the PAP flippantly labels. I am not here to endorse any particular candidate, but a brand of candidate.

The PAP rules by a culture of fear. Why did they call elections on 9/11? The day 14 years ago that no one will forget – when the twin towers in America collapsed because of a terrorist attack. Some say it gives us a long weekend. Some say it’s political timing. Political timing is right, but what sort of sensitivity would Singapore, normally a champion in diplomacy, be showing America by calling one of its most important dates on a day of tragedy and remembrance for the Americans?

My theory is that elections are called on this day precisely to invoke the memory of the 9/11 attacks. We fear change, we fear intrusion, we fear destruction. Let’s have our people vote on the day when they are also bombarded on global media with constant reminders of loss, suffering, and shock. Let’s make them scared of change, and embrace the status quo. It’s also no coincidence that George Bush’s (one of America’s worst mistakes) reign lasted during the anti-terrorist years.