PDA

View Full Version : Letter from a resident of Sengkang West.

Sammyboy RSS Feed
09-09-2015, 02:20 PM
An honorable member of the Coffee Shop Has Just Posted the Following:

Dear Administrator,

Please help me publish this as I am not a facebook user. Many thanks.

I am a resident of Sengkang West and it upsets me to hear that many residents disregard the efforts our Dr Lam Pin Min. Let me share my personal encounter of how Dr Lam helped us.

My husband and I were Singaporeans at birth and met at a university in Melbourne, Australia. 20yrs ago, young and naive, we decided to give up our citizenship and moved to Australia where we were having the ‘time of our life’. However we suffered tremendously as a second class citizen and no good government policies unlike in SG. We decided to move back to SG and were on EP for many, many years. The kids had to go to International School as local schools had no place for them.

Fast track.. we went to see Dr Lam at his MPs for assistance to obtain PR status. We knew we were facing an uphill task but Dr Lam was very patient and sincere. The rejections from ICA became so frequent we wanted to give up but Dr Lam continued to write numerous appeal letters for us. He would also drop us an email to check if we were doing well.

Not too long ago, we received PR status and life has changed for us. But till today we regret our decision back then and I feel like I owe an apology to my children. While we are happy to be back in Singapore, we are sad with the bad choice we made and now live as PRs in our birth country.