PDA

View Full Version : My Encounter With A Job Placement Executive

Subconscious
09-10-2013, 02:09 AM
HI bros and sis,

Been reading the great stories here for a while and thought it's high time I contributed. This will be the first in a series of stories from me - All are real encounters, though the names and specifics have been changed for obvious reasons.

-----

I graduated in 15 years ago from a local university with a computer engineering degree. Graduating in the midst of a recession meant I was jobless for several months. Many of my fellow schoolmates, I noticed, secured jobs very easily. But they were willing to do something I hated most: Software programming. Yeah, those days, if you were good or were just willing to face the lit rectangular box that was a computer monitor and type away incessantly for hours on end, you would be almost guaranteed a job - Fast. But no, programming wasn't for me, and back then, I would rather have gone hungry than to do something that was on the lowest rung of my ladder of desired jobs.

Fast forward to a year later... I had been in the local system integrator for a year. The Systems Engineer job was not the best job in the world, but at least I was not doing programming for a living. I installed Novell Netware servers for a major government organisation. It was coming to Year 2000 and most companies, big and small, were quickly rolling out projects to replace their servers or perform updates on the same, just so that the ticking of the clock on 31 Dec 1999 at midnight would go smoothly. One could only imagine the horrors that would have ensued had this essential exercise not been implemented. So for the past year, I had faithfully gone round to the different government sites to set up, test, and hand over the NetWare servers to the beaming clients, who now felt safe that their in-house operations (not to mention secrets) would be safe from catastrophe.