PDA

View Full Version : The Hiking Trip

lilshah83
04-07-2013, 12:46 AM
The Hiking Trip

This is a story about a hiking trip that I had participated in during my polytechnic days. Hope you guys will enjoy it. This is my first try at letting others read what I write so please don't flame me too much if this sucks...

The school was packed with students. Everywhere I turned, I can see all kinds of teenagers walking around, chattering away excitedly. They’re going around from booth to booth to look at all the exhibits that was on display. It was CCA day. The day where freshmen looks around and decides what extra curricular activity they wanna commit to for the next 3 years in poly.

Every booth had a senior student, championing his activity. From taekwondo to the band, from drama club to the Malay cultural clubs. It was indeed an eye opener for me.

“Oi!” I heard a familiar voice behind me and a tap on my shoulder followed swiftly. I turned and found my buddy, Fadil. He was my classmate in secondary school but he’s now in the engineering school while I got accepted to the IT faculty.
“Can you believe this?” I said, nodding my head towards the barrage of students.
“Welcome to poly life bro!” he replied with a smile, his eyes following a female student wearing a short skirt. I shook my head. He’s still the same after all this years.
“So have you signed up for anything yet?” I asked.
“Nope. Seen a few booths. Maybe I’ll play football again but I want to try something new this time round,” he replied. Fadil led our school to the national championships in our senior year in secondary school. A talented midfielder, scouted by several local clubs. But somehow he didn’t want to join any of them.
“So what about you?” he asked.
“I don’t know. Still looking,” I shrugged my shoulders.
“Don’t you go and do something stupid like what you did in secondary school,” he grinned. I grimaced when I heard that. It brought back memories that I wanted to be kept hidden.